It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s… T-Rex, a stone, and a pig?

So on Wednesday after our awesome Online Journalism I class, I had time to kill before meeting up with friends. I decided to walk down Michigan Ave, through Millennium Park in hopes to get inspired for a blog post (and lookie here, I did), and then go wherever my feet would take me.

I saw the usual: tourists walking around, ducks in the Crown Fountain, annoying high schoolers thinking they’re allthat&abaggachips making dumb poses in front of…

Some very interesting sculptures.

Windy City Dinosaur by Sui Jianguo and Shen Shaomin
Windy City Dinosaur
by Sui Jianguo & Shen Shaomin

Jia Shan Shi No. 46 by Zhan WangJia Shan Shi No. 46
by Zhan Wang

Valiant Struggle by Chen Wenling
Valiant Struggle
by Chen Wenling

I’ve never seen these sculptures before and — when you see the pictures, you’ll see — they’re very eye-catching. The one with a crane and a pig (as I described it to myself) definitely caught my attention (as it’s supposed to do). I had no idea what it meant, but it looked interesting. When I looked it up online, I saw that it’s called Ying Yong Feng Dou and that there’s so much more to it than looking cartoonistic (is that even a word? It is now…).

Millennium Park unveiled these four sculptures by Chinese sculptors (I only saw three; the fourth wasn’t done yet) on April 9, 2009, courtesy of the City of Chicago’s Department of Cultural Affairs and Boeing Galleries and will have them until October 2010. According to one blogger’s review,

“In addition to being an acclaimed venue for public art, Millennium Park has a populist mandate, and the balance between popular appeal and artistic excellence is a difficult one. Chen Wenling’s “Valiant Struggle,” one of four new large-scale sculptures from China introduced into the park, is a critique of an increasingly capitalistic and consumerist Chinese society, but the funhouse aesthetic, especially in the park, reduces the sentiment.”
The Chicago Art Blog.

See more pictures and read reviews of the sculptures at art.newcity.com and Chicago Outdoor Sculptures.

Or, go check it out for yourself! Chicago’s weather look like it’s seeing brighter days so there’s no excuse!

5 Responses to It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s… T-Rex, a stone, and a pig?

  1. gracecase55 says:

    I have been wondering what those sculptures were all about. What happened to the sculptures that used to be there? Were those just temporary?

  2. Gephine Fernandez says:

    I didn’t even know there were sculptures there before these. I’m assuming they have limited durations like this one did.

  3. Just to clear a few things up here:

    1) What is attributed to me in block quotes is NOT my actual review, it’s taken from a PR I posted on my website. My actual review is in the NewCity link, a better and actual quote from me would be:

    “In addition to being an acclaimed venue for public art, Millennium Park has a populist mandate, and the balance between popular appeal and artistic excellence is a difficult one. Chen Wenling’s “Valiant Struggle,” one of four new large-scale sculptures from China introduced into the park, is a critique of an increasingly capitalistic and consumerist Chinese society, but the funhouse aesthetic, especially in the park, reduces the sentiment

    2) All the sculpture exhibitions in the park that you see are temporary, on display for about a year (I believe this exhibition goes until October 2010).

  4. Gephine Fernandez says:

    Thanks, Abraham! Sorry about that. If you look back at the post, I’ve changed it to your quote (which is better!). Thanks again 🙂

  5. Effiek says:

    I heard about this and read that the city was going to put up new scupltures. However, the ones I saw were different from these. I guess they will be adding more! But this is pretty cool and gives a new fresh look the to city/gives tourists something to view 🙂

Leave a Reply

